Joe Busto
303-866-3441 x3209
Weather Modification Permit Areas

Currently, there are seven permitted weather modification programs for wintertime cloud seeding in Colorado. There are many participants in these programs but the major funding partners are listed below. The target areas are:
  1. Central Colorado Rocky Mountains Program (Denver Water and Winter Park)
  2. Upper Roaring Fork Basin Program (Colorado Springs Utilities)
  3.  Vail/Beaver Creek Program (Vail/Beaver Creek Ski Areas)
  4.  Gunnison River Basin Program (Gunnison County, Upper Gunnison River WCD)
  5.  Grand Mesa (Water Enhancement Authority which is comprised of Collbran WCD, Fruitland Mesa WCD, Crawford WCD, Grand Mesa Pool)
  6.  Western San Juan Mountains Program (Southwestern WCD, City of Durango, Animas La Plata WCD, Durango Mountain Resort, Dolores WCD)
  7.  Eastern San Juan Mountains Program (Pagosa Area Water and Sanitation District, San Juan WCD, Southwestern WCD)