Questions?
CWCB
303-866-3441
    
The CWCB Board

The Colorado Water Conservation Board (CWCB) consists of 15 members. Eight voting members represent the state’s major water basins: South Platte, North Platte, Arkansas, Rio Grande, Gunnison/Uncompahgre, Colorado Mainstem, Yampa/White and the Southwest Basin. One voting member represents the City and County of Denver and the tenth Ex-Officio voting member is the Executive Director of the Department of Natural Resources.

There are five Ex-Officio non-voting members who inform and advise the voting Members on water issues as they relate to or impact their agencies. These five members consist of the Director of the CWCB, the State Engineer, the Attorney General, the Director of the Division of Parks & Wildlife and the Commissioner of Agriculture.

Board Members serve three-year terms, are appointed by the Governor after they apply or are nominated for the position, and must be confirmed by the Senate. Board appointees are generally experienced in water resource management; water project financing; engineering, planning, and development of water projects; water law; irrigated farming, and/or ranching. No more than five appointees can be members of the same political party, and all appointees must reside in the area they represent. Individuals interested in applying for a Board position should visit the Governor’s Boards & Commissions Office.

CWCB Board Members
Board Member Basin/Representation Term Type of Member  Email Address 
Jack Goble

Arkansas River 2017-2020 Appointed  jack.goble@state.co.us
Gail Schwartz

Colorado River Mainstem 2019-2022 Appointed  gail.schwartz@state.co.us
Jessica Brody

City & County of Denver 2019-2022 Appointed  jessica.brody@state.co.us
Steven Anderson

Gunnison-Uncompahgre River 2018-2021 Appointed  steven.anderson@state.co.us
Curran Trick

North Platte River 2018-2021 Appointed  curran.trick@state.co.us
Heather Dutton, Chair

Rio Grande River 2017-2020 Appointed  heather.dutton@state.co.us
Celene Hawkins, Vice Chair

San Miguel, Dolores, Animas & San Juan Rivers 2017-2020 Appointed  celene.hawkins@state.co.us
Jim Yahn

South Platte River 2018-2021 Appointed  jim.yahn@state.co.us
Jaclyn Brown

Yampa/White Rivers 2019-2022 Appointed  jackie.brown@state.co.us
Dan Gibbs, Executive Director

Department of Natural Resources Ex-Officio  dan.gibbs@state.co.us
Kate Greenberg, Commissioner

Department of Agriculture Non-Voting
Ex-Officio
 kate.greenberg@state.co.us
Rebecca Mitchell, Director

Colorado Water Conservation Board Non-Voting
Ex-Officio
 rebecca.mitchell@state.co.us
Dan Prenzlow, Director

Division of Colorado Parks & Wildlife Non-Voting
Ex-Officio
 dan.prenzlow@state.co.us
Kevin Rein, State Engineer

Division of Water Resources Non-Voting
Ex-Officio
 kevin.rein@state.co.us
Phil Weiser Attorney General Non-Voting
Ex-Officio
 

CWCB Strategic Framework
Reviewed annually by the Board, the CWCB Strategic Framework ensures the CWCB provides the citizens of Colorado, and its water users and others, with an understanding of how the organization achieves its mandate to Conserve, Develop, Protect, and Manage Colorado’s Water for Present and Future Generations in accordance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations.

The Board uses the Strategic Framework to: ­
  • Identify policy development needs ­
  • Set program direction ­
  • Define program and project priorities ­
  • Develop staff performance goals
The Board Member Work Plan within the Strategic Plan guides the Board’s actions and helps implement the authorities and objectives of the CWCB.